We offer easy-to-use, state-specific online divorce forms. Our forms are attorney-drafted, include detailed filing instructions and are available immediately after purchase. Additional information and links to resources on divorce in Texas may be found below.
Another alternative: If you need legal advice, or want to purchase legal advice bundled with your Texas divorce forms from a Texas lawyer, for a fixed and reasonable fee, check out TXDIVORCEONLINE.COM
Information About Divorce in TexasTX Divorce Law Summary
Texas State Statutory Resources
TX Residency Requirements (Divorce)
Grounds for Divorce in Texas (No-Fault, Uncontested)
Child Support in Texas
TX Child Custody & Visitation Law
Property Division in Texas
Texas Courts & Community Resources
Start Your Texas Divorce
- Try Before You Buy! No credit card is needed to start. No other legal forms site offers this.
- All the state-specific forms you need. Detailed filing instructions included.
- 100% Court Approval Guarantee.
- Divorce from $59 + court filing fees.
- Last Will & Testament and Parenting Plan included FREE with purchase.
Other Products Available
Timing and Jurisdiction:
One spouse must be a domiciliary of the State of Texas for at least six months, and a resident of a county for at least ninety days, before a divorce can be filed. After the divorce is filed, there is a minimum 60-day waiting period before the divorce can be granted. Most cases take more than sixty days, to find out what there is and to finalize the agreed documents.
No-Fault Divorce Grounds: (1) the marriage has become insupportable because of discord or conflict of personalities that has destroyed the legitimate ends of the marriage relationship and prevents any reasonable expectation of reconciliation; or this no-fault ground (2) living separate and apart without cohabitation for 3 years. [Texas Codes Annotated; Family Code, Chapters 6.001 and 6.006].
After the 60 day period has elapsed there will be a hearing. The hearing lasts approximately 10 minutes. Only the moving party has to attend the hearing, but it is advisable for both parties to attend.Back to Top
TX Residency Requirements (Divorce) - Sec. 6.301. General Residency Rule for Divorce Suit. A suit for divorce may not be maintained in this state unless at the time the suit is filed either the petitioner or the respondent has been: (1) a domiciliary of this state for the preceding six-month period; and (2) a resident of the county in which the suit is filed for the preceding 90-day period.Grounds for Divorce in Texas (No-Fault, Uncontested): Sec. 6.001. INSUPPORTABILITY. On the petition of either party to a marriage, the court may grant a divorce without regard to fault if the marriage has become insupportable because of discord or conflict of personalities that destroys the legitimate ends of the marital relationship and prevents any reasonable expectation of reconciliation.
Sec. 6.006. LIVING APART. The court may grant a divorce in favor of either spouse if the spouses have lived apart without cohabitation for at least three years. View all grounds for divorce in TX.
View the complete Texas Statutes.Back to Top
Texas Interactive Child Support Calculator - provided by AllLaw.com (DivorceLawInfo.com is not affiliated with AllLaw.com)
Texas Family Code Chapter 154 - Child Support
Texas Child Support Program
FAQs on Child Support
Child Support Explained
Back to Top
Texas Family Code Chapter 153 - Conservatorship, Possession, and Access
FAQ on Child Custody and Visitation
Child Custody Resources
Back to Top
Texas Family Code Chapter 7 - Award of Marital Property
Back to Top
Lawyers and Divorce
Glossary of Family Law Terms
Texas Judiciary On-Line
Texas District Courts
Tarlton Law Library
Texas Judicial System Procedures
State Bar of Texas
Back to Top