The Utah Family Law Center is a resource on divorce and family law in the State of Utah for non-lawyers and pro se litigants. Please let us know if we have omitted a link to an important state resource and we will gladly add it.
Courts and Community ResourcesLawyers and Divorce
Glossary of Family Law Terms
Utah State Courts Directory
Utah State Bar
S.J. Quinney Law Library
State Statutory ResourcesIf you wish to review your State's Statutes or Code, click the links below:
Utah State Legislature
Divorce LawA divorce ends the marriage and all direct legal relationships between the couple, except those specifically written out in the divorce decree. These may include such things as spousal support, parenting arrangements and support of children, division of property and payment of debts. The Utah divorce laws allow for no-fault divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences.
Divorce Overview and Steps - Utah Courts
Marriage and Living Together LawMarriage Requirements in Utah
Child SupportUtah has enacted Child Support Guidelines that are used by the courts to calculate a parent's child support obligation. The guidelines consist of three components: base child support, medical care and child care expenses. A table determines the combined support for the children. A support obligation is shared between the parents according to their incomes. The non-custodial parent pays the custodial parent child support. In addition, the guidelines require parents to provide medical coverage for their minor children, and to share the costs of the children's portion of the premium and non-covered expenses, including deductibles and co-payments, for the children's medical care. Finally, the courts require the parties to share work-related child care expenses. Child support continues until the child is 18 and has completed high school.
Utah Child Support Worksheets
Utah Child Support Calculator
Utah Child Support Formula - Utah Code 78B-12-301
Child Support Explained
Child Custody and Visitation LawFAQ on Child Custody and Visitation
Child Custody Resources
Visitation Guidelines (Child(ren) over 5 years) - Utah Code 30-3-35
Visitation Guidelines (Child(ren) under 5 years) - Utah Code 30-3-35.5
Divorce Education - After filing a complaint for a divorce and receiving a docket number, parties who have a child or children are required to attend a course regarding their children's needs. This divorce education course is a prerequisite to receiving a divorce decree, unless a court determines that attending the course is not feasible or in the best interests of the parties.
Property DivisionIn Utah, the law recognizes that spouses who work in the home and outside the home both contribute to the property acquired during the marriage, regardless of the income source. Utah requires an "equitable" though not necessarily equal division of such property, depending upon how long the marriage lasted, the age and health of the parties, their occupations and the amounts and sources of income and related matters. The courts have the power to apportion all property owned by either or both of the spouses, regardless of whose name it is in or where it is located, and there are special rules for apportioning property owned by the spouses prior to the marriage or received by gift or inheritance. Usually, these properties are considered separate. If the parties divide their property by agreement, the judge must review the decision to be sure that it is equitable; however, the division of property cannot be reopened after it is final, except under a few very rigid circumstances.
Property Division - Divorce - Utah Courts